Beirut – “Santa Fe”

Fresh from their new album, The Rip Tide, Beirut brings us a slice of indie-pop that is sure to brighten your summer.

Listen to the whole album on NPR here.

Azari & iii – “Manic”

One of the best Neu-House songs of the year comes from Canada’s Azari & iii.

Feist – “How Come You Never Go There”

New single from Feist. It’s been too long.

Eleanor Friedberger – “Last Summer”


This IS Summer.

Gold Leaves – “The Ornament”


Gold Leaves is the new project of Grant Olsen, who is better known as Arthur in Seattle’s folk duo Arthur & Yu. The debut LP “The Ornament” will be released August 16th on Hardly Art. The title track has a vibrant yet dreamy vibe, and I’m really looking forward to hearing the whole album.

Gold Leaves – The Ornament by hardlyartrecords

M83 – “Midnight City”

“Midnight City” is the first single off M83’s forthcoming album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming set for release on October 18, 2011.

Download the single for free here.

Bon Iver – “I Can’t Make You Love Me – Nick of Time”

Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 – “From Africa with Fury: Rise”

Sean Kuti, the youngest Son of Fela Kuti, continues his Father’s Afrobeat legacy with his second album, “From Africa With Fury: Rise”. Released in the US on Knitting Factory Records, this album is co-produced by Brian Eno, who is a lifelong champion of Afrobeat. Sean features Fela’s backing band, Egypt 80, again on his second album. Here is Seun & Egypt 80 performing “Rise” on the Jools Holland show.

Sneaky Sound System – “We Love”


Australia’s Sneaky Sound System is back with another album, and here is the lead single. The video is highly inappropriate – well, not really (you’ll understand once the lights come up). The group, in the past, has taken away many wins and nominations at ARIA for their dance music, so when their album drops on Modular in August we’ll let you know and see if it lives up to their amazing past:

Funk & Soul Wednesdays – Texas Funk: 1968-1975

I am a proud funk loving Texan, and this compilation “Texas Funk: Black Gold from the Lone Star State 1968-1975” is a must own. The comp was released on the Jazzman/Now Again label in 2005 as part of an ongoing series showcasing funk standouts from regional areas (Mid-West Funk, Carolina Funk, etc). Many band members were only teenagers, and their 45’s were virtually unknown to anyone outside of the local Texas scene or record collectors. The Majestics (Track 13) were still in high school when they pressed 500 copies of “Funky Chick” which ended up being the only track they ever released. An original pressing of the “Funky Chick” 45 can price up to $800 with collectors. Here are my two personal favorites from the comp.

The Magestics – “Funky Chick” originally released in 1969 on Morsound

Sunny & the Sunliners – “Get Down” originally released on Tear Drop Records



January 2018
« Dec