Widowspeak – “Nightcrawlers”

Molly Hamilton, the singer of Brooklyn-based Widowspeak, has been drawing comparisons to Hope Sandoval, and you can hear why in the trio’s single “Nightcrawlers”.

Real Estate – “Days”

New Jersey’s own Real Estate released their second album Days in mid-October on Domino Records. These childhood friends forge great guitar-pop through their breezy use of melody and harmony. Here is the dog-centric video for their lead single, “It’s Real”.

Youth Lagoon – “The Year of Hibernation”

Montana is the latest video from Youth Lagoon’s dreamy debut album “The Year of Hibernation”. Trevor Powers, aka Youth Lagoon, is a 22 year old Boise native with enormous talent. This stunning video is filmed by Tyler T Williams.


Florence and the Machine – “Shake It Out”

New¬†single¬†off of their upcoming album, Ceremonials. It’s Wonderful!

Review: Penguin Prison – “Penguin Prison”


Chris Glover has composed a fantastic debut album, showcasing his eclectic influences and strong vocal talent. Glover, a NYC native, blends mature songwriting with impressive production, and has fun while doing it. The album moves through some inspired avant-disco so well you’ll be compelled to check out his remixes. He doesn’t disappoint there either:


“Don’t Fuck With My Money” is an excellent introduction to the album. It’s funky, fun, and infectious. It also shows the Glover doesn’t take himself too seriously. From there, he takes us through song after song of smart pop tracks. Fans of LCD Soundsystem, The Rapture, Prince, or Hot Chip will enjoy the sound he has created. The album has a real sense of cohesion to it. Standouts “Golden Train”, The Worse It Gets”, and “Fair Warning” are spectacular. It ends with “Someone Got Everything”, a cool downtempo track that showcases Glover’s less electronic talents in terms of production.


Talents that, on great display here, have proven that this album should be at the top of a few electronic “Best Of” lists this year.

Wild Flag – “Glass Tambourine”

The Wild Flag musicians are veterans of the indie music scene, and their first album is slated for release on September 13th. Portland and DC-based Wild Flag have been friends for over ten years and and are well known as members of now-defunct bands Sleater-Kinney and Helium. You may also recognize Carrie Brownstein from her role with Fred Armisen on the IFC show Portlandia. “Glass Tambourine” is the first single off this highly anticipated album.

WILD FLAG – Glass Tambourine by MergeRecords

Young The Giant – “My Body (Two Door Cinema Remix)”

Kimbra – “Settle Down (Live at Sing Sing Studios)”

Kimbra is a rising artist from New Zealand, whose debut album “Vows” is due out in September. Check out the live and studio versions of the song “Settle Down,” a great single off of the album.

Poolside – “Harvest Moon” cover

harvest moon

Los Angeles based Filip Nikolic & Jeffrey Paradise call their Neil Young cover “daytime disco” and it is oh so good.

Poolside – Harvest Moon by Poolside Music

The Rapture to stream new album tonight

Here is your chance to get an exclusive listen to the upcoming album “In The Grace of Your Love” from NYC Dance-Punk veterans The Rapture. These guys are streaming their new album starting at 8:30 EST and will last for 48 hours. Prizes and cool swag will be offered for tweeting questions directly after. Check it out – this is going to be an amazing release!

Listen to the stream here.



January 2018
« Dec